The 25DoC: Day 1 & 2

skincaresunday

Skincare Sunday!

Today is the first Skincare Sunday! If you know me, you know I am passionate about skin and try to encourage all my clients to take good care of their skin. For me, the goal is always to wear less makeup– the less we have to cover up, the better we look and feel. Keeping in mind that I am not an esthetician or a dermatologist, I will only touch on the very basics of skin care. Through my years of experience working directly with skin and my genuine interest in skincare, I have gathered some knowledge along the way that I would love to share with you all. First, we will talk about exfoliation.

Exfoliation is literally the removal of the oldest dead skin cells from the top layer of skin. When you are young, your skin produces new skin cells about every 28 days and as you age this process begins to slow down. The dead skin cells that have just been lingering all winter have been clogging your pores and likely causing breakouts (that you have been continuing to pack foundation, concealer, and powder on to cover-up). By exfoliating and removing the top layer, you are revealing the younger, newer skin beneath and preventing the older, dead skin from clogging your pores. Whenever I have a client who complains about how foundation looks on their skin (dry, cakey, etc), one of the first things I ask them is “Do you exfoliate”, or generally “What is your skincare routine”. More often than not they tell me that they do not exfoliate.

It is important to make sure your exfoliate isn’t too abrasive (a product that would be used for your body shouldn’t be used on your face) and of course if you have specific skincare concerns, sensitivities or allergies that you ask a doctor for recommendations. If you have never done it before I recommend starting at just once a week and working up to no more than 3 times a week. You can over-exfoliate and irritate the skin, leaving it red and, for lack of better words, raw. Lastly, it is very important to make sure you moisturize afterwards. I promise you will see a dramatic difference in your skin’s overall health as well as the way your makeup appears and lasts.

Have chapped lips?? No amount of lip balm will heal your poor, dry kisser?? Try putting some coconut oil and sugar on a cotton round and scrubbing them gently; follow by applying either some coconut oil or lip balm (if you’re pressed on time, a quick swish with your toothbrush after you’ve brushed your teeth will keep them freshly polished). This will remove some of the dead skin so your lip balm can heal the skin beneath.

favethings

A few of my favorite things:

Day 1: Coconut Oil
coconutoil

If you know me or have worked with me recently, you’ve seen me pull this bad boy out. I literally use this for EVERYTHING. First, my favorite thing about it is that it makes a better makeup remover than anything else I’ve used (seriously, even the best of the best long wearing mascara and eye liner don’t stand a chance)– and it’s all natural and fantastic for your skin. No chemicals or questionable ingredients. Second, it is a great moisturizer. It is my go-to when I’m working on fitness clients and need to “shine” them up. I use this on my own face, body and hair as well as my clients– and I even use it on my son!
Day 2: YSL Glossy Lip Stains

YSL

 

Ohhhhh the purest love that I feel for these tiny tubes of brilliance! These wondrous little babies give a fresh stain to the lip while maintaining a glossy, fresh finish. I love to use them on my fitness shoots where the models need to look gorgeous without looking made up– but I also love to use them on my brides. It is long-wearing without being matte or opaque (which is what most of the long wear products are). It is a bit pricy, but worth it in my opinion. I can’t get enough of these little gems.

Well, that’s it for today! Enjoy your Sunday, friends!

–Christie

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

